Phat Diem Cathedral

Phat Diem Cathedral

This is Phat Diem Cathedral. It was built in the 19th century and is still in use. I arrived not long after mass had ended.

Phat Diem Cathedral 2 

The cathedral is in the town of Kim Son, which runs alongside a canal.  I walked from one end of town to the other. It’s clearly very poor and very dirty, but the people were friendly – I’ve never had so many people (mostly children) shout ‘hello’ and wave at me before.

Kim Son Canal 

According to this bridge, Hoan really loves Dung.I saw several of his / her declarations of love throughout the town. The colourful stuff on the bridge is dyed straw used for weaving baskets.

Hoan Loves Dung Bridge

I think this is a school. I’ve seen quite a few art deco inspired buildings and gates – many, like this one, built long after the French were kicked out.

Kim Son Gate

Though it’s only small, there were many churches in town. Including the cathedral, I saw at least six.

Kim Son Church

Kim Son Church 2

One response to “Phat Diem Cathedral

  1. Pingback: The Best of Vietnam | Tom Snik

Leave a Reply

